Myriam Spiteri Debono is expected to be sworn in as Malta’s third female President on Thursday 4th April. She will be succeeding George Vella, whose tenure expires on the day. 

The swearing in will take place during a special Parliamentary session, that will meet at the Throne Room within the Grandmaster’s Palace, in Valletta.

Dr Spiteri Debono will be leaving her private residence in Birkirkara at 9.15am to make her way to St John’s Cathedral where a solemn mass will be co-celebrated by the Archbishop of Malta, Charles J. Scicluna.

At around 11am, the new President, along with her husband Dr Spiteri Debono, will walk towards the palace a few metres away.

Dr Spiteri Debono will be sworn in at around 12.15pm and her swearing in will be signed by the Speaker of the Parliament, Anglu Farrugia, as a confirmation. This will be followed by her first speech as the new President of Malta.

Subsequently, Dr Spiteri Debono – accompanied by the Prime Minister and relatives - will salute the public from the balcony at around 12.40pm.

After, she will walk towards St George’s Square, where she will be given the national salute and inspect the guardians for the first time as a President. At that point, she will also be celebrated by a flypast from the Air Squadron of the Armed Forces of Malta.

The ceremony will come to a close by laying flowers on the War Memorial and the entry of the new President at the San Anton Palace.

Who is the next President of the Republic?

Myriam Spiteri Debono, a notary by profession, was appointed as Malta’s first female speaker in 1996 up until 1998, during the Alfred Sant administration. In addition, she had contested different elections within the Labour Party and led its women’s section.

Prior to her name being proposed for the role of President of the Republic, Dr Spiteri Debono was one of the three names proposed by the Nationalist party to be considered for the role of Standards Commissioner, which she had turned down.

Dr Spiteri Debono was voted in as Malta’s next President last week. For the first time in its history as a republic, Malta’s President was appointed by a resolution of the House of Representatives, by at least two-thirds of all members of Parliament.

Despite the fact that, in this case, both Parliamentary groups approved Dr Spiteri Debono as President, in the future, if a majority is not achieved, then the present President should remain in office until the required majority is secured.

Main Image:

Myriam Spiteri Debono / Facebook

Read Next: Placeholder

Written By

Anthea Cachia

Anthea has a passion for writing, meeting new people and telling stories. With an insatiable curiosity Anthea loves roaming localities in search of long-established small businesses. When not scribbling away on a notebook or tapping on her computer, you can find her experimenting in the kitchen or traveling.